Floating accidental

Hint: my new city is home to a myriad of beautiful brownstones

Hint: my new city is home to a myriad of beautiful brownstones

It’s been quite some time since I’ve last posted, and I can’t say that it’s because of lack of travel. Since my trip to New York, Phil and I flew up north to spend his birthday in Seattle (which we somewhat bitterly enjoyed because of our devotion to the 49er’s…so booooo, Seahawks!), checked out graduate schools and programs on the east coast with my mom, and most recently, fell in love and made a home in a city more than 3,000 miles away from the comfortable and cozy Bay Area. Yes, that’s right: I will be breaking out on my own and flying the coop and all the way to…Boston, Massachusetts.

20140506_200136

However, this drastic change in scenery doesn’t come without reason. Recently, I’ve been accepted into the M.A. program for international relations and international communications at Boston University. I really didn’t think I had the grades or test scores to even be considered for possible acceptance or enrollment, so I never really viewed the school as a viable option. Of course, this all changed when I decided to check my e-mail while on a spinning machine at the gym and saw that, in spite of all of my self-doubt, I was offered admission. Ecstatic was an understatement. And once my mom and I spent some time in the wonderful city known as Beantown, I knew exactly where I wanted to be for the next few years. It’s completely and utterly cliche of me to say this, but do you ever just go somewhere and have it just click? Yeah well, overused tropes and all, that was what happened between Boston and little ole me. This isn’t to say that my move this August won’t come without its own struggles or troubles and that my mind will be so easily acclimated to living on my own in a strange city or that all feelings of apprehension will simply dissolve into thin air. But until those things come into fruition, I’ll just follow the words of my friend, Forrest:

I don’t know if we each have a destiny, or if we’re all just floating around accidental-like on a breeze, but I, I think maybe it’s both.

Forrest Gump

So float on, friends.  I know I will be.

Made a coupl'a quacky new friends in Boston

Made a coupl’a quacky new friends in Boston

Leave a Reply

